Happy New Year?

So here we are again, with a new year. Many people like to treat it as a fresh beginning, and so would I, except that inexplicably I woke up still sick. It’s almost like the universe doesn’t pay any attention to our arbitrary calendar conventions. For half an hour or so I thought that my first words of the new year were “urgh, fuck” but then I remembered that actually they were “sorry, little guy, it’s too early”.  Make of that what you will.

Funny-new-years-resolutions-counting-down-the-new-year

Not that I actually stayed up to midnight. Yesterday was mostly just another day. I did go out briefly to the shop to buy a new journal and some bread and salad stuff, and also I cooked dinner and had a shower. So, that was a big day of much activity! I also knitted while listening to Critical Role, my obsession of the last six months, and in the evening I cast on a new hat for NYECO (New Year’s Eve Cast On). I’m finally making the Trilobite that I planned back in May 2018.

I don’t have resolutions. I do badly with them, because rules are for breaking, yo! But I do have thoughts. So here they are, for the record.

Life:

I am seven, it seems, and I need to tidy my room and put my toys away. I have some idea of sorting one box or shelf or drawer per week. This is very hard, for a number of reasons that probably deserve their own post.

In a more literary vein, I also want to do better at keeping up my journal and this blog. I have six posts in draft from and ideas for more, so it shouldn’t be too hard. I’d also like to read more, play fewer games, and learn a decent chunk of kanji.

And finally, I’d like to increase my movement as much as I can without hurting myself. This includes maintaining my habits of showers, teeth cleaning and face washing, not only because all that standing up is an effort, but also because it’s a benchmark. If I’m too tired for that, I’ve overdone things. I’m still taking it very cautiously and mostly just stretching, but I have hope of getting back to a strength routine by Easter.

Knitting:

This is the Year of Blankets, WiPs and Shiny Things. Unlike the last three years, I’m not focusing on learning new techniques, but on consolidation. I have three blankets in progress, and am considering another one. One is double knit, one is assorted colourwork, and the newest one is mosaic squares intended to use up small ends of sock yarn. I’m also considering starting another one that’s a set of cabled squares. Squares are good things to knit in summer when it’s hot, and you don’t want  a big pile of wool draped over your lap.

WiPs are Works in Progress, and I have rather too many of them that have been languishing. I’d like to frog the ones that I’m really not going to make, and finish some others. And Shiny Things is just code for whatever I feel like. Knit-alongs, Tour de Sock, anything shiny that attracts my attention.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment